2023 ACMHCK Annual Conference for Behavioral Health September 12 – 15, 2023 | Hotel Topeka at City Center | Topeka, KS Continuing Education Syllabus

Course Overview

The 2023 Annual Conference for Behavioral Health is presented by the Association of Community Mental Health Centers of Kansas. Educational opportunities are provided to increase awareness of emerging trends, build skills and knowledge to provide behavioral health care, and advocate for policy change.

Target Audience

This conference is designed for behavioral health providers, including executive leaders, physicians, clinicians, nurses, social workers, therapists, and other healthcare providers.

Learning Objectives

At the completion of this conference, participants should be able to:

- 1. Apply best and emerging practices in the provision of mental and behavioral health services and treatment of substance use disorders, grief disorder, ADHD, and trauma.
- 2. Describe the key components of the CCBHC model; summarize the program and reporting requirements; and describe approaches to measuring productivity within a CCBHC.
- 3. Summarize the key tenets of care coordination.
- 4. Explain the vision of peer services in Kansas, and summarize the status of youth and adult peer services programs in Kansas
- 5. Manage and navigate sensitive conversations about race, equity, and the human experience
- 6. Implement effective leadership
- 7. Explain the significance of the intersection of mental health and the criminal justice system and identify promising practices to support consumers engaged in both systems
- 8. List ethical concerns that may arise during treatment
- 9. Describe the evidence-base practices of ART and IPS
- 10. Summarize the status of various crisis programs in Kansas including 988, youth crisis, and mobile crisis response

Accreditation

This activity has been planned and implemented in accordance with the essential areas and policies of the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education through the joint providership of the University of Kansas Medical Center Office of Continuing Medical Education and ACMHCK. The University of Kansas Medical Center Office of Continuing Medical Education is accredited by the ACCME to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

Physicians: The University of Kansas Medical Center Office of Continuing Medical Education designates this live activity for a maximum of 16.25 *AMA PRA Category 1 Credits* ™. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

Social Workers: The University of Kansas Medical Center Area Health Education Center East, as an approved provider of continuing education by the Kansas Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board, presents this offering for a maximum of 16.25 hours credit applicable for relicensure of LASWs, LBSWs, LMSWs and LSCSWs. Kansas Provider Number 12-002. Mary Beth Warren, MS, RN, coordinator.

Social Work attendance requirement: Presentations must be attended in their entirety to claim credit.

APRNs/Nurses: The University of Kansas Medical Center Area Health Education Center East is approved as a provider of CNE by the Kansas State Board of Nursing. This course offering is approved for 19.5 contact hours applicable for APRN or RN relicensure. Kansas State Board of Nursing provider number: LT0056-0749. Mary Beth Warren, MS, RN, Coordinator.

Nursing attendance requirement: Presentations must be attended in their entirety to claim credit. Nurses must attend a minimum of 30 minutes (0.6 contact hours) of this course to receive credit.

Courses Unavailable for Continuing Education (CE) Credit

Please be aware that some courses at this event will not be available for all three credit types (CME, CNE, and SW) and are noted below. The credit types that are available are listed in parentheses.

- September 12
 - CMHC Supervisor Training (none)
- September 13
 - Opening Remarks/General Session (none)
 - Crosswalk Between IPS and VR (SW)
 - SPQM Overview (none)
 - Mental Health in Jails (SW)
 - Tricare Overview (none)

- September 14
 - Panel: Measuring Productivity (none)
 - Financial Manager's Roundtable (none)
 - Panel: YLink (SW)
 - Employment Law Parts 1 and 2 (none)
 - K-TRACS (CME, CNE(APRN only))
 - Annual Cost Reporting (none)
 - Utilizing Data/Business Decisions (none)
 - Specialty Courts in KS (SW)

Planning Committee and Speaker Disclosure Information

The following individuals have no financial relationship(s) with ineligible companies whose primary business is producing, marketing, selling, re-selling, or distributing healthcare products used by or on patients:

Jeff Carnes, Kyle Kessler, Susan Lopez, Heather Richardson, Shantel Westbrook, Amanda Cunningham, Stacy Kratz, Michelle Ponce, Laura Sidlinger, Jennifer Woodson, John Agnew, Becky Austin-Morris, NP-BC, David Barnum, PhD, PhD, Charles Bartlett, Isabelle Blackwood, Melissa Bogart Starkey, Chelsea Booth, John Bosch, JD, Bryson Bower, LCP, Christina Boyd, MSW, LSCSW, LCAC, Julie Branstorm, Andrew Brown, MSW, KCPM, Keona Brown, Vicki Broz, LMSW, LMAC, Shannon Bruegge, Angie Brungardt, LMSW, Linda Buchheister, BA, Certified Public Manager, Ulisa Diane Buckingham, MD, Holly Cavender, MSW, Ramone Chavez, Shedreese Colding-Scott, Brian Cole, Jennifer Cox, MA, Lyndsey Crisenbery, Hasan Davis, Shelina Davis, Dan Decker, Timothy DeWeese, LMSW, Gayle Donaldson, MBA, Travis Freed, LP, Kimberly Freese, MA, Michael Garrett, MS, LCP, Lance Geyer, Lori Gonzales, Jordan Graves, Jason Hess, LCAC, Walter Hill, LCP, Melissa Hoffman, DNP, PMHNP-BC, Ben Holloway, Laura Howard, Charles Ingoglia, MSW, Annie Jensen, David Jordan, Sawyer Jurgensmeier, Kyle Kessler, MPA, Mindi Kessler, Josh Klamm, BS, Quinn Lewandowski, MS, Jamie Malone, APRN, PMHNP-BC, Lori Martin, Andres Mata, Susan Mills, Itzel Moya, Suzanne Murnane, LMSW, Lisa Neitzke, Briana Nelson Goff, Ed O'Malley, Ruth Owens-Jurgens, LCP, Anna Palermo, Tim Phelps, Sally Pokorny, Michelle Ponce, Sandra Reese, LaTonyua Rice, PharmD, BS, BCGP, Markie Ridgway, Judith Rodman, Celia Ruiz, Susan Ruiz, Heather Rush, Chrissy Russell, LSCSW, Clara Sainte, MSW, LSCSW, Erika Saleski, Angela Schindler-Berg, Jessica Sherfick, LSCSW, LAC, Mark Simpson, Monica Simpson, MLS, Cassandra Sines, Gordon Smith, LAC, Marla Smith, CRT, Austin Solis, MS, Brenda Soto, LSCSW, Lisa Southern, LMLP, LCP, Janet Stanek, Anthony Strickland, MD, Colin Thomasset, Kelsee Torrez, MPA, Beth Van Vleck, Jodi Wall, Daniel Warren, MD, Family Medicine, Mary Warren, Jennie Watson, LSCSW, April White, Jani White, Zac Wilson, Robert Wonnell, JD, Sharon Zehr, Chris Zuercher.

All conflicts have been mitigated.

Unless otherwise announced prior to the session or noted in course materials, this activity does not include any information about offlabel use of a product for a purpose other than that for which it was approved by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA).

Instructions for Claiming CE

00 jube is the six-digit sign-in code

Options for signing in

- 1. Text the code to 828-295-1144
 - OR
- 2. Go to eeds.com > Click the 'sign into an event' button > enter the code
- 3. Download the eeds app and submit the code

ACMHCK's agreement with KU Medical Center gets you a complimentary account with eeds. From your personalized account, you can claim CE, complete evaluations, and print certificates in one place.

When you submit the activity code, you will be presented with a checklist of eligible CE courses at this conference. You can modify the attendance checklist as the week progresses. Questions? Email Paul Hartley phartley@kumc.edu